Fall 2021

Hair Story

  • Interest Level: Kindergarten - Grade 3   ·  
  • Reading Level: Grade 2

With rhythmic, rhyming verse, this picture book follows two girls—one non-Black Puerto Rican, one Black—as they discover the stories their hair can tell.

Preciosa has hair that won’t stay straight, won’t be confined. Rudine’s hair resists rollers, flat irons, and rules.

Together, the girls play hair salon! They take inspiration from their moms, their neighbors, their ancestors, and cultural icons. They discover that their hair holds roots of the past and threads of the future.

With rhythmic, rhyming verse and vibrant collage art, author NoNieqa Ramos and illustrator Keisha Morris follow two girls as they discover the stories hair can tell.

Format Your Price Add
978-1-5415-7916-3
$13.49
978-1-7284-1737-0
$22.99
Interest Level Kindergarten - Grade 3
Reading Level Grade 2
Genre Fiction, Picture Books
Category Diverse Books: Celebrating Differences , Diverse Books: #OwnVoices, Diverse Books: Race & Ethnicity, Diversity, SEL: A Self-Awareness, Social Emotional Learning
Copyright 2021
Publisher Lerner Publishing Group
Imprint Carolrhoda Books ®
Language English
Number of Pages 32
Publication Date 2021-09-07
Text Type Poetry
BISACS JUV011030, JUV039140, JUV074000
Dewey [E]
Dimensions 9.75 x 9.75
Lexile 320
Guided Reading Level P
Features Author/Illustrator biography, Awards, Original artwork, Reviewed, and Teaching Guides

Awards

  • Cybils Nominee, Nominated, 2021

Reviews

School Library Journal

“A lovely lesson in loving and having pride in oneself, perfect for fans of Matthew Cherry’s Hair Love and for any shelf seeded with positive messaging.”—School Library Journal

Author: NoNieqa Ramos

Raised in the Boogie Down Bronx, NoNieqa Ramos is an educator and literary activist. She wrote the young adult novel The Disturbed Girl's Dictionary and the picture book Hair Story. She believes Halloween is a lifestyle, not a holiday. If you're in Virginia, you might catch NoNieqa getting motorcycle lessons from her soulmate Michael or going indie bookstore hopping with her preciosos Jandi and Langston. Connect with her works on www.nonieqaramos.com or on the Latinx collective www.lasmusasbooks.com.

Illustrator: Keisha Morris

Keisha Morris is a freelance writer and illustrator based in Maryland. She loves creating characters whose personalities jump off the page. She earned her BFA in Illustration at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York and mentored with illustrators such as Sean Qualls, Selina Alko and Dan Santat. When she is not drawing, she loves spending time with her wife, daughter, and two crazy cats Elphie and Ollie!

Lerner eSource™ offers free digital teaching and learning resources, including Common Core State Standards (CCSS) teaching guides. These guides, created by classroom teachers, offer short lessons and writing exercises that give students specific instruction and practice using Common Core skills and strategies. Lerner eSource also provides additional resources including online activities, downloadable/printable graphic organizers, and additional educational materials that would also support Common Core instruction. Download, share, pin, print, and save as many of these free resources as you like!

Hair Story

With rhythmic, rhyming verse, this picture book follows two girls—one non-Black Puerto Rican, one Black—as they discover the stories their hair can tell. Preciosa has hair that won’t stay straight, won’t be confined. Rudine’s hair resists rollers, flat irons, and View available downloads →