Reviews

Use this page to find reviews related to a specific book published by Lerner Publishing Group. Simply enter the Product Name or ISBN and press "Search".

Cover: A Hot Mess: How the Climate Crisis Is Changing Our World

Foreword Reviews

“A Hot Mess is an unvarnished introduction to climate change that’s refreshing about sharing the supporting science.”—Foreword Reviews

 
Cover: Which Nose for Witch?

Youth Services Book Review

“This is a lighthearted, sweet story of self acceptance and confidence in choosing to be different from everyone else.”—Youth Services Book Review

 
Cover: A Queen to the Rescue: The Story of Henrietta Szold, Founder of Hadassah

Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle

“Readers will see the impact of Szold’s work for immigrants, orphans, Jewish publications, and healthcare in Palestine as well as find themselves in awe of how one person can change the world.”—Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle

 
Cover: Artie and the Wolf Moon

PW Online

“This vibrant, fast-paced werewolf tale rejuvenates the genre with themes of Black family, community, and history, offering accessible dialogue and reimagining the folklore of werewolves with a striking premise that has a tremendous payoff.”—starred, Publishers Weekly

 
Cover: A Queen to the Rescue: The Story of Henrietta Szold, Founder of Hadassah

Publishers Weekly

“Elegant, assured prose (‘The air was thick with tears for lost loved ones’), accentuated by facts and data, will keep readers absorbed alongside Nayberg’s engrossingly abstract, fluid illustrations, tinted in rich hues of blue-green and red. A moving biography of a lesser-known…

 
Cover: From the Tops of the Trees

Booklist

“Beautiful in its simplicity and elegance, with a hopeful and inspiring message, this story will not soon be forgotten.”—starred, Booklist

 
Cover: Golf's G.O.A.T.: Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, and More

Booklist

“Each book closes by challenging readers to research the sport’s history, make their own top-ten lists, and discuss their choices with friends. An appealing series for sports fans.”—Booklist

 
Cover: Animals to the Rescue!: Amazing True Stories from around the World

Booklist

“[T]he storytelling is captivating. . . . . Telling tales of peril with animals as heroes, and featuring color photos on every page, this attractive book will easily find its audience.”—Booklist

 
Cover: Just Ash

Booklist

“There are few books and even fewer authors who have endeavored to give readers a real glimpse into the life of an intersex teen, which is just one reason Santana’s debut is so unique. . . . Santana—who is intersex herself—has written a smart and deeply introspective main character with…

 
Cover: How to Make a Book (about My Dog)

Booklist

“[G]eneral readers and budding authors will still come away strongly impressed by the everyday miracle that is the book in their hands.”—Booklist

 
Cover: How to Make a Book (about My Dog)

Kirkus Reviews

“A master class in how to make a picture book.”—Kirkus Reviews

 
Cover: Glorious Wrestling Alliance: Ultimate Championship Edition

AIPT Comics

“[A] delightful story about characters beating their self-doubt with metaphorical steel chairs. It’s a mix of silly fun with gentle introspection. Wrestling fans will get a superkick out of this.” – AIPT Comics

 
Cover: The Backyard Secrets of Danny Wexler

Jewish Book Council

“Read­ers will be enter­tained but will also come away with food for thought and mate­r­i­al for seri­ous dis­cus­sion with class­mates, teach­ers, and par­ents as they read about an imag­i­na­tive boy and the world in which he, and all of us, live.” — Michal Hoschander Malen, Jewish

 
Cover: It’s All Art!: From Drawing to Dress-Up with Sesame Street ®

School Library Journal Online

“[E]ncourages and highlights the many opportunities to use one’s imagination.”—School Library Journal

 
Cover: Finding Refuge: Real-Life Immigration Stories from Young People

School Library Journal Online

“A timely book on an important topic that deserves a spot on any bookshelf, this is especially vital for libraries in areas with young multilingual learners, immigrants, and refugees.”—School Library Journal

 
Cover: The Rabbi and the Reverend: Joachim Prinz, Martin Luther King Jr., and Their Fight against Silence

AJL Newsletter

“Ades’ book is a timely corrective to the often strained relations between America’s Jewish and Black communities.” — Marjorie Gann, retired teacher; co-author (with Janet Willen) of Five Thousand Years of Slavery and Speak a Word for Freedom:Women Against Slavery (Tundra/Penguin…

 
Cover: Hair Story

School Library Journal

“A lovely lesson in loving and having pride in oneself, perfect for fans of Matthew Cherry’s Hair Love and for any shelf seeded with positive messaging.”—School Library Journal

 
Cover: 37 Days at Sea: Aboard the M.S. St. Louis, 1939

AJL Newsletter

“The rhythmic flow draws the reader inside the narrative. You will want to read this book in one sitting, never letting go until the very last words. In addition, the layout and design of 37 Days at Sea add depth to the emotional events.” — Anne Dublin, retired teacher-librarian,…

 
Cover: Secrets of Navajo Code Talkers

Booklist

“The code talkers and their contributions are accorded great respect in this volume . . .”—Booklist

 
Cover: Where I Belong

Booklist

“[A]n appealing, authentic story featuring engaging, realistic characters.”—Booklist

 
Cover: Just Ash

School Library Journal

“An empowering, recommended story about Ash’s fight to define himself on his own terms.”—School Library Journal

 
Cover: Animals to the Rescue!: Amazing True Stories from around the World

Kirkus Reviews

“This prolific nonfiction writer and confessed animal lover knows how to choose stories and details that will appeal to her readers, writing clearly and engagingly. Nicely varied collection and a perennially popular subject.”—Kirkus Reviews

 
Cover: Who Is a Scientist?

Kirkus Reviews

“The photographs reflect the world’s diversity . . . Both selection of information and presentation have been thoughtfully designed to appeal to young readers. Convincing evidence that readers, too, might become scientists.”—starred, Kirkus Reviews

 
Cover: Hannah G. Solomon Dared to Make a Difference

AJL Newsletter

“Bonnie Lindauer tells Hannah’s story in an engaging way. Her descriptions, along with Sofia Moore’s beautiful, muted-color illustrations bring the era alive. The illustrations are integral to the story and are particularly effective in scenes of diverse women banding together in common…