Little Fish

A Memoir from a Different Kind of Year

  • Interest Level: Grade 7 - Grade 12   ·  
  • Reading Level: Grade 7

Told through real-life journals, collages, lists, and drawings, this coming-of-age story illustrates the transformation of an 18-year-old girl from a small-town teenager into an independent city-dwelling college student. Written in an autobiographical style with beautiful artwork, Little Fish shows the challenges of being a young person facing the world on her own for the very first time and the unease—as well as excitement—that comes along with that challenge.

Format List Price Your Price Qty
978-1-936976-14-0
$23.99 $17.99
Interest Level Grade 7 - Grade 12
Reading Level Grade 7
Genre Nonfiction, Young Adult
Subject Social Studies
Publisher Lerner Publishing Group
Imprint Zest Books ™
Language English
Publication Date 2013-08-01
BISACS YAN012010, YAN024050, YAN006140
Features Awards, Original artwork, and Reviewed

Awards

  • YALSA Outstanding Books for the College Bound, Winner, 2014
  • Texas Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List, Winner, 2014
  • YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers Nominee, Nominated, 2014
  • Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) Choices, Winner, 2014
  • CBC Teen Choice Book of the Year Award Nominee, Nominated, 2014
  • ForeWord Magazine Book of the Year Nominee, Short-listed, 2013
  • Cybils Nominee, Nominated, 2013

Reviews

School Library Journal

“Readers leaving home for the first time will relate to the author as she shares her ambivalent feelings in comparing home and childhood friends versus college life and a newfound circle of friends.”—School Library Journal

Kirkus Reviews

“[H]er story is easy to relate to and recommended for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Laura Lee Gulledge.”—Kirkus Reviews

Booklist

“Wary college-bound students will find comfort in this sincere and endearing look at freshman year.”—Booklist

Author, Illustrator: Ramsey Beyer

Ramsey Beyer is a comic artist and freelance illustrator living in Philadelphia. She is the author and illustrator of two autobiographical graphic novels, Little Fish: A Memoir from a Different Kind of Year, and Year One. Beyer has also been published in several books, including Fanzines by Teal Triggs, Make a Zine!, and Don't Leave Your Friends Behind.