This product is not available for purchase: Status is Temporarily out of stock

The Case of the Missing Carrot Cake

A Wilcox & Griswold Mystery

From the Series Wilcox & Griswold Mysteries

  • Interest Level: Kindergarten - Grade 5   ·  
  • Reading Level: Grade 2

When food goes missing on Ed’s farm, Detectives Wilcox and Griswold do what it takes to track down the thieves. In this case, Miss Rabbit’s carrot cake has disappeared. Has it been stolen? Or eaten? Or both? Who dunnit?

Format Your Price
978-1-939547-17-0
Temporarily out of stock
$14.24
Interest Level Kindergarten - Grade 5
Reading Level Grade 2
Genre Fiction
Copyright 2015
Publisher Creston Books
Imprint Creston Books
Language English
Number of Pages 40
Publication Date 2015-05-12
Text Type Fiction—Mystery
BISACS JUV019000, JUV021000, JUV002090
Dewey [Fic]
Graphics Full-color illustrations
Dimensions 6 x 8.75
Lexile 580
ATOS Reading Level 3.0
Accelerated Reader® Quiz 185051
Accelerated Reader® Points 0.5
Features Awards, Original artwork, Reviewed, Starred Reviews, Teaching Guides, and eSource

Awards

  • 2015 Kirkus Best Middle-Grade Books of the Year, Winner, 2015

Reviews

Booklist

“Giving a playful nod to the hard-boiled detective, Newman has written a highly entertaining mystery for young gumshoes.”—Booklist

Kirkus Reviews

“Readers ready for chapter books will solve the crime and then be surprised by the twist at the end. Here’s hoping for more hard-boiled detecting from Wilcox and Griswold!”—starred, Kirkus Reviews

Publishers Weekly

“. . . [A] good pick for fans of Geoffrey Hayes’s Otto and Uncle Tooth, Jennifer Lloyd’s Murilla Gorilla, and other literary sleuths in the making.”—Publishers Weekly

School Library Journal

“Sweet and charming, this title offers a simple mystery that provides just the right amount of whodunit mixed with humor and good friendship.”—School Library Journal

Author: Robin Newman

Robin Newman was a practicing attorney and legal editor but she now prefers to write about witches, mice, pigs, and peacocks. She lives in New York.

Illustrator: Deborah Zemke

Deborah Zemke grew up near Detroit, Michigan. She has written and illustrated many books for young readers. She currently lives in Columbia, Missouri. Learn more about Deborah at www.deborahzemke.com.

Lerner eSource™ offers free digital teaching and learning resources, including Common Core State Standards (CCSS) teaching guides. These guides, created by classroom teachers, offer short lessons and writing exercises that give students specific instruction and practice using Common Core skills and strategies. Lerner eSource also provides additional resources including online activities, downloadable/printable graphic organizers, and additional educational materials that would also support Common Core instruction. Download, share, pin, print, and save as many of these free resources as you like!

Wilcox & Griswold Mysteries

Wilcox and Griswold are Missing Food Investigators, tracking down stolen food on the farm. Using clever word play and simple logic, these early readers offer fun mysteries to solve. View available downloads →