• Compact view
  • Normal view
  • Grid view

BISAC Subject JUV011010

JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American

Allen Jay y el Ferrocarril Subterráneo (Allen Jay and the Underground Railroad)

From the Series Yo solo: Historia (On My Own History)

Allen Jay's family farm is a stop on the Underground Railroad. Allen's parents give food and shelter to slaves escaping from the South. One day in 1842, Allen's father asks him to help a… Read More →

  • ATOS: 3.5
  • Dewey: 973.7'115

Come Morning

From the Series Adventures in Time

Twelve-year-old Freedman and his father Nehemiah, a freed slave, make their living on a farm in Delaware during the 1850s. When Nehemiah is taken prisoner by slave-hunters in the Deep South… Read More →

  • Lexile: 670
  • ATOS: 4.4
  • Dewey: [Fic]

Don't Call Me Grandma

Great-grandmother Nell eats fish for breakfast, she doesn't hug or kiss, and she does NOT want to be called grandma. Her great-granddaughter isn't sure what to think about her. As she slowly… Read More →

  • Lexile: 530
  • ATOS: 3.6
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Double Bass Blues

A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street. Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds—h Read More →

Ellen Craft's Escape from Slavery

From the Series History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader's Theater

In the 1840s, runaway slaves faced many dangers. They were often caught and sometimes killed. Ellen Craft and her husband William knew the risks. And they decided to take a chance. Ellen… Read More →

  • Lexile: 560
  • ATOS: 3.8
  • Dewey: 920.009296073

Family

In this heartwarming sequel to the highly acclaimed Hope, Aunt Poogee and Hope return with their delightful, multiculutural family for a special dinner at Aunt Poogee's farm. The whole… Read More →

  • Lexile: 600
  • ATOS: 2.9
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Happy Hair

African American girls and their beautiful hair are celebrated in this bright, joyful read-together picture book that will have girls everywhere repeating the book's chorus: "I love being me!" Read More →

History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader's Theater — eBook Set

From the Series History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader's Theater

Set

Bring to life important stories from U.S. history with the History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader’s Theater. These books bring together illustrated picture books with reader's theater… Read More →

  • Multi-user eBook
  • List Price: $511.80
  • Your Price: $383.85
  • 12 titles

History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader's Theater — Library Bound Set

From the Series History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader's Theater

Set

Bring to life important stories from U.S. history with the History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader’s Theater. These books bring together illustrated picture books with reader's theater… Read More →

  • Library Bound Hardcover
  • List Price: $111.96
  • Your Price: $83.97
  • 4 titles

Hope

For the young girl in Hope, weekends at her great-aunt Poogee's are the best. Aunt Poogee makes incredible fried chicken, tells great stories, and knows lots of interesting people. But this… Read More →

  • Lexile: 830
  • ATOS: 4.4
  • Dewey: [E]

Hush Harbor: Praying in Secret

In the early nineteenth century, enslaved Africans are not allowed to gather together in groups. For Simmy and his family, that means they must worship in secret. If they are caught, the… Read More →

  • Lexile: 600
  • ATOS: 4.7
  • Dewey: [E]

Live Oak Media eReadalong Collection (Multi-User Editions) — Live Oak Media eReadalong Set

From the Series Live Oak Media eReadalong

Set

eReadalongs are eBooks integrated with the fully-produced, high-quality audio productions that distinguish Live Oak Media in the field of children's recordings. Read by the most prominent… Read More →

  • Live Oak Media eReadalong
  • List Price: $3,504.15
  • Your Price: $3,153.74
  • 117 titles

Looking Like Me

From the Series Live Oak Media eReadalong

"Dion Graham's confident, enthusiastic narration powerfully depicts a young African-American boy who is beginning to identify who he is in the world. Quincy Tyler Bernstine adds a dynamic… Read More →

  • Lexile: 950
  • ATOS: 2.6
  • Dewey: [E]

Looking Like Me

When you look in a mirror, who do you see? A boy? A girl? A son? A daughter? A runner? A dancer? Whoever and whatever you see―just put out your fist and give yourself an "I am" BAM! This… Read More →

  • ATOS: 2.6
  • Dewey: [Fic]
Fall 2019

Mama Mable's All-Gal Big Band Jazz Extravaganza!

Debut author-illustrator Annie Sieg takes young readers on an inspiring trip to the music halls of the 1940s, when groups of young female musicians broke racial and gender barriers—and… Read More →

Mumbet's Declaration of Independence

"All men are born free and equal." Everybody knows about the Founding Fathers and the Declaration of Independence in 1776. But the founders weren't the only ones who believed that everyone… Read More →

  • Lexile: 640
  • ATOS: 3.4
  • Dewey: 306.3'62092

Play Ball, Jackie!

Batter up! It's Jackie Robinson's first game in the major leagues. April 15, 1947, is a big day for ten-year-old Matty Romano. His dad is taking him to see his favorite team—the Brooklyn… Read More →

  • Lexile: 590
  • ATOS: 3.5
  • Dewey: [E]

Ruth and the Green Book

Ruth was so excited to take a trip in her family's new car! In the early 1950s, few African Americans could afford to buy cars, so this would be an adventure. But she soon found out that… Read More →

  • Lexile: 700
  • ATOS: 4.6
  • Dewey: [E]

The Book Itch: Freedom, Truth & Harlem's Greatest Bookstore

In the 1930s, Lewis's dad, Lewis Michaux Sr., had an itch he needed to scratch—a book itch. How to scratch it? He started a bookstore in Harlem and named it the National Memorial African… Read More →

  • Lexile: 630
  • ATOS: 3.3
  • Dewey: [Fic]

The Little Rock Nine Stand Up for Their Rights

From the Series History Speaks: Picture Books Plus Reader's Theater

Until 1957, two worlds existed in Little Rock, Arkansas: one for white Americans and another for African Americans. Whites and blacks went to separate schools, ate at separate restaurants… Read More →

  • Lexile: 540
  • ATOS: 4.4
  • Dewey: 379.2'630976773

The Prison-Ship Adventure of James Forten, Revolutionary War Captive

From the Series History's Kid Heroes

Captured at sea . . . a young man must choose between his country and his freedom. The Atlantic Ocean, 1781. James Forten is a free African American sailor on an American ship, the Royal… Read More →

  • Lexile: 580
  • ATOS: 3.1
  • Dewey: 973.3'71

The Steel Pan Man of Harlem

Once upon a time in the city of Harlem, there was a terrible problem. Rats had taken over the city. They were everywhere―subways, restaurants, even people’s homes! The mayor didn’t know what… Read More →

  • ATOS: 3.6
  • Dewey: [E]

Yo solo: Historia (On My Own History) — eBook Set

From the Series Yo solo: Historia (On My Own History)

Set

With striking, full-page illustrations, real and fictionalized characters, and stories featuring events that really happened, these histories engage readers’ interests and imaginations Read More →

  • Multi-user eBook
  • List Price: $425.15
  • Your Price: $318.86
  • 11 titles