Spring 2022

Free Kid to Good Home

  • Interest Level: Kindergarten - Grade 3
  • Reading Level: Grade 2

An hilarious story about sibling rivalry and a child’s impulse to run away from home—(and come back again!)

“When my squawking baby brother arrived, I realized I needed a new family. No one seemed to mind when I packed my bag. I took a box and used my best handwriting to write ‘FREE KID’, then waited for some new parents to take me home.”

Waiting in a box like an abandoned pet and encountering the passersby changes the girl’s perspective. At the end of the day, when her parents pretend they need an older sister for their new baby, she is ready to leave her box and go happily back home.

In this comical twist on sibling rivalry, a girl decides she needs a new family—so she writes Free Kid on a box and waits in the street for some better parents to choose her.

Translated from the Japanese edition, this accessible story is perfect for children starting on independent reading and is illustrated in a graphic comic style that really captures childlike subversive humor. Ideal for fans of Charles Schulz’s Peanuts comic strip.

A useful book to teach young children about welcoming a new baby sibling to the family, or exploring playful sibling relationships, through funny and lighthearted storytelling.

Hiroshi Ito was born in Tokyo, Japan, and graduated from Waseda University with a degree in education. He began creating picture books while still a student and has since published many award-winning books.

Praise for Free Kid to Good Home

“Ito uses words and pictures with equal skill to craft this hilariously willful little visionary.”—The New York Times

“Ito’s deadpan humor and the character’s emotive facial expressions inject jocularity in a welcome exploration of the anxiety that some children face in response to siblinghood.”—Publishers Weekly

“a light, engaging tale that will appeal to comic book fans and all young readers who have secretly (or not so secretly) resented the arrival of a potato-faced baby to the family.”—The School Reading List

“young readers…will be rewarded by getting to know this can-do narrator.”—The Horn Book

“More and more profound with every read.”—Just Imagine

“This is a GEM of a book and I can see why it is a bestseller! Highly recommended.”—NZ Poetry Shelf

Format Your Price Add
978-1-77657-442-1
$14.24
978-1-77657-453-7
$23.99
Interest Level Kindergarten - Grade 3
Reading Level Grade 2
Category SEL: B Self-Management, SEL: E Responsible Decision-Making, Social Emotional Learning
Copyright 2022
Publisher Gecko Press
Imprint Gecko Press
Language English
Number of Pages 112
Publication Date 2022-05-03
Text Type Fiction
BISACS JUV044000, JUV013040, JUV039130
Dewey [Fic]
Dimensions 5.75 x 8
Lexile 520
Features Original artwork and Reviewed

Reviews

The Horn Book Guide

“[A]ppeals to young readers looking to tackle a longer book; they will be rewarded by getting to know this can-do narrator.”—The Horn Book

Publishers Weekly

“Ito’s deadpan humor and the characters’ emotive facial expressions inject jocularity in a welcome exploration of the anxiety that some children face in response to siblinghood.”—Publishers Weekly

Author, Illustrator: Hiroshi Ito

Hiroshi Ito was born in Tokyo, Japan, and graduated from Waseda University with a degree in education. He began creating picture books while still a student and has since published many award-winning books.

Spring Titles from Lerner Publisher Services

Here are the highlights from our publishing partners’ Spring 2022 lists! From picture books to graphic novels, nonfiction about perennial favorite topics like space and dinosaurs, diverse eReadalongs, board books, and high-low fiction, there’s something for everyone from our favorite… View →