Seven Wonders of Green Building Technology

From the Series Seven Wonders

  • Interest Level: Grade 5 - Grade 8
  • Reading Level: Grade 5

In every age, science and technology have advanced human civilization. From architecture to engineering, medicine to transportation, humans have invented extraordinary wonders. People have been constructing buildings for thousands of years. But in modern times, people have become more interested in new kinds of building techniques. They want to make buildings that are “green,” or good for the environment. Some green builders make houses out of recycled materials. Others make buildings that use the sun and wind for heating and cooling. In some places, whole communities are based on green building technology. In this book, we’ll explore seven wonders of green building technology. We’ll learn about Earthships, which collect rain for drinking water and make heat and electricity from the sun’s rays. We’ll visit Menara Mesiniaga, a skyscraper in Malaysia that is cooled by fresh tropical breezes. We’ll explore BedZED, a green community in the United Kingdom that has gardens on rooftops, and we’ll visit Samso, an island in Denmark that makes its own electricity from wind turbines. These and other buildings and communities are leading the way to a new, greener future.

Format Your Price Add
Available at all major wholesalers and distributors. Save 25% off list price on hardcovers and ebooks when you buy direct! Digital purchases will be accessed on Lerner Digital Bookshelf. An account will be created for you after purchase.
Interest Level Grade 5 - Grade 8
Reading Level Grade 5
Genre Science
Publisher Lerner Publishing Group
Imprint Twenty-First Century Books ™
Language English
Publication Date 2010-01-01
Text Type Informational/Explanatory
BISACS JNF025000, JNF061000
Dewey 720'.47
Graphics Full-color illustrations
ATOS Reading Level 6.0
Accelerated Reader® Quiz 135446
Accelerated Reader® Points 2.0
Features Bibliography/further reading, Glossary, Index, Maps, Source notes, Table of contents, and Timeline

Author: Karen Sirvaitis