• Compact view
  • Normal view
  • Grid view

Search Results

859 records found. Displaying 25 - 48.

Spring 2020

All of a Sudden and Forever: Help and Healing after the Oklahoma City Bombing

A profoundly moving nonfiction picture book about tragedy, hope, and healing from award-winning author Chris Barton. Sometimes bad things happen, and you have to tell everyone. Sometimes… Read More →

  • Lexile: 800
  • Dewey: 363.325/140976638
Spring 2020

Miriam at the River

The biblical story of baby Moses as told by his big sister. Giving her baby brother a kiss, brave little Miriam places Moses's basket into the river. With one quick push, she sends him into… Read More →

  • Lexile: 670
  • Dewey: [E]
Spring 2020

Beautiful Shades of Brown: The Art of Laura Wheeler Waring

Growing up in the late 19th century, Laura Wheeler Waring didn't see any artists who looked like her. She didn't see any paintings of people who looked like her, either. As a young woman… Read More →

  • Lexile: 940
Spring 2020

Poo Bum

Once there was a little rabbit who could only say one thing... In the morning his mother would say, “Time to get up, my little rabbit!” He’d reply: “Poo bum!” At lunchtime his father would… Read More →

  • Lexile: 430
  • Dewey: [Fic]
Spring 2020

A Bowl Full of Peace: A True Story

In this deeply moving nonfiction picture book, award-winning author Caren Stelson brings Sachiko Yasui's story of surviving the atomic bombing of Nagasaki and her message of peace to a young… Read More →

  • Lexile: 650
  • Dewey: 940.54/252244092 [B]
Spring 2020

Hard Hat Cat!

Of all the stray cats in Israel, a kitten sits high in a tree above girders, beams, cement mixers and cranes. Avi wants to adopt the friendly kitten although his mom—and the family dog— don't… Read More →

  • Lexile: 490
  • Dewey: [E]
Spring 2020

Mrs. Paddington and the Silver Mousetraps: A Hair-Raising History of Women's Hairstyles in 18th-century London

History is full of fascinating stories of colorful characters, but some of the most interesting parts of history are really odd. You have probably seen scenes of government officials with… Read More →

  • Lexile: 950
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Double Bass Blues

A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street. Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds—h Read More →

Fall 2019

Happy Hair

African American girls and their beautiful hair are celebrated in this bright, joyful read-together picture book that will have girls everywhere repeating the book's chorus: "I love being me!" Read More →

Fall 2019

How Do You Go to Sleep?

Discover how different animals go to sleep in this rhyming picture book from a veteran children's author! Follow along as three children learn about the bedtime routines of squirrels… Read More →

Fall 2019

Grumpy Monkey Party Time!

Everyone's favorite New York Times bestselling Grumpy Monkey is back in this hilarious sequel about managing social anxiety and listening to your needs! Have you ever been a little anxious… Read More →

Fall 2019

Elbow Grease vs. Motozilla

Superstar entertainer John Cena's second picture book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series Elbow Grease, featuring a high-octane story all about teamwork! Elbow Grease is back and… Read More →

Fall 2019

Mama Mable's All-Gal Big Band Jazz Extravaganza!

Debut author-illustrator Annie Sieg takes young readers on an inspiring trip to the music halls of the 1940s, when groups of young female musicians broke racial and gender barriers—and… Read More →

Fall 2019

A Map into the World

"Filled with wonder and sorrow and happiness." —Alison McGhee, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Someday A heartfelt story of a young girl seeking beauty and connection in a busy world… Read More →

  • Lexile: 560
  • ATOS: 3.7
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Eek, You Reek!: Poems about Animals That Stink, Stank, Stunk

Eek, you reek, You make a funk. Where you have been Things stink, stank, stunk. You've left a path, A swath of smell, And—yuk! You did it very well. Readers will be delighted by the… Read More →

  • Dewey: 591.47
Fall 2019

In the Jerusalem Forest

A child and her mother take a walk in the forest near Jerusalem, gazing at their reflections in a rippling pond and appreciating their time together. Inspired by the poem “The Pond” by Hayim… Read More →

  • Lexile: 410
  • ATOS: 1.4
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Mr. Tempkin Climbs a Tree

School's out, and Marky looks forward to summer, including helping his friend and neighbor, Mr. Tempkin, with his garden. But when Mr. Tempkin's plan to thwart the squirrels that have been… Read More →

  • Lexile: 570
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Blue Cat

A curious and playful young cat goes about its very cat-like day—purring, peeking, swatting, sneaking—when a sound in the distance sparks an exciting exploration. Get ready for a surprise… Read More →

  • Lexile: 160
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Froggy Day

When the weather forecaster says it's going to be "very froggy," she means it! There are frogs on the streets, on the bus, in the supermarket, and even in school! Everything has gone hopping wild! Read More →

  • Lexile: 530
  • ATOS: 1.8
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Hello

Some stories don't need words to make their meaning clear—and some friendships can transcend barriers. A wordless picture book shows that the power of friendship and communicating can span… Read More →

  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Not Yet a Yeti

Everyone in George's family is a yeti—everyone except George. When he asks why he is not yet a yeti, each family member tells George that he needs to be bigger, scarier, and more ferocious!… Read More →

  • Lexile: 490
  • ATOS: 2.4
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

Shadow

In our old house, Ma told me there was nothing to be scared of. No monsters hiding behind doors, or in wardrobes, or under beds. She said there were no dark places at all. But in the new… Read More →

  • Lexile: 500
  • ATOS: 2.5
  • Dewey: [Fic]
Fall 2019

Super Sloth

Super Sloth isn't fast. He can't fly. But he is very, very good at moving slowly and looking just like a greenish bit of tree. When his archenemy Anteater makes off with some prize mangoes… Read More →

  • Lexile: 510
  • ATOS: 2.8
  • Dewey: [E]
Fall 2019

The Hairdo that Got Away

Once a month, Dad takes his son to the barbers, come rain or shine. But when Dad disappears, his little boy's hair grows big, ginormous, out of control—and so do his feelings. A touching and… Read More →

  • Lexile: 620
  • ATOS: 3.5
  • Dewey: [E]