Reviews

Use this page to find reviews related to a specific book published by Lerner Publishing Group. Simply enter the Product Name or ISBN and press "Search".

Last of the Name

Twelve-year-old Danny O'Carolan and his sister, Kathleen, arrive in New York City in 1863. Kathleen refuses to be parted from her only remaining relative, so she finds a job in domestic… Read More →

  • Lexile: 720
  • ATOS: 4.8
  • Dewey: [Fic]

Reviews

Booklist

“Textured and well-researched, Parry’s latest historical novel brings to life New York City during the peak of the Civil War . . .”—Booklist

 

School Library Journal

“An excellent addition to any historical fiction collection; recommended for fans of Little Women or A Tree Grows In Brooklyn.”—School Library Journal

 

Kirkus Reviews

“An exuberant dash through a pivotal year in American history.”—starred, Kirkus Reviews

 

Susan Fletcher

“Last of the Name is a rich, brave, brawling novel of the immigrant experience, bringing the cacophony of Civil War-era New York City vividly to life. Painstakingly researched, this story of holding on to family and heritage while making a new home in America is told with…

 

Deborah Hopkinson

“With loving attention to detail, Rosanne Parry recreates Civil War-era New York City and the struggles of intrepid Irish immigrants. More than a survival story, Last of the Name is a celebration of the power of music and family to sustain us through hard times. Truly a grand…

 

Emily Whitman

“Civil War New York springs to life with danger, humor, and grit. You can feel the dance steps as a young immigrant’s family traditions bring him strength and connection in a challenging new world. Historical fiction with a strong resonance today.”—Emily Whitman, author of The…